About the Author

alice and me board reading

I can be found on Twitter and LinkedIn.

I proudly live on Wurundjeri land and acknowledge the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the original custodians of the land which we call Australia.

I was a lawyer and am now trying to find a new career path. I worked in criminal law and community legal centres for 9 years, including substantial stints at Victoria Legal Aid and the Victorian Aboriginal Legal Service.

I do not think I am an expert, this blog represents as much my process of learning to communicate better as it does me preaching the plain language message!

Absolutely no part of this blog should be taken as definitive legal advice.

I am merely sharing personal views on communication style and language, and suggesting alternatives for lawyers.

I do not intend for this blog to be taken as a guide for understanding legal professional obligations, and encourage all lawyers or clients to avail themselves of appropriate and professional legal advice elsewhere!

I graduated the University of Tasmania in 2007 with a Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Laws, and again in 2008 with the Graduate Diploma of Legal Practice. In 2016 I graduated from Monash University with a Master of Laws (Human Rights.)

(Related: studying part time while working full time is hard. Especially when you have a mental health disability. Studying full or part time while working part time is probably a better idea!)

In 2014, I was diagnosed with borderline personality disorder, which explained a lot of the difficulties I had experienced in maintaining personal and professional relationships and interactions. This, plus the disheartening and stigmatised experience of being a lawyer with a mental health disability for several years (as prior to the BPD diagnosis, I had been diagnosed with depression and anxiety) has led me to reconsider my career path and decide…

That I want to do something else. Exactly what remains unclear. Something policy or research based would be nice. Legal practice isn’t entirely ruled out, but I’d prefer to get away from the never ending grind of crime (and the associated pressures of continuing legal aid funding cuts…)

I’ve been studying a Master of Commerce at Deakin University for the past year and am, hopefully, due to graduate soon.

The short term plan is to get any decently paying job that requires my professional skill set, earn some money and stabilise my rather unstable life (because living in poverty is so much fun…) The long term plan? Remains a little unclear! Maybe a PhD, maybe not.

Outside of work, I am actively involved with Amnesty International, follow Melbourne Victory, Liverpool FC and Collingwood in their respective competitions, knit and blog about George R R Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire because I’m a massive nerd.

I am available for upper secondary and early university tutoring and essay proof reading.

Advertisements